Fun President’s Day Facts

Mt. RushmorePresident’s Day was the first national holiday to honor an American. The federal government established President’s Day in 1880 to recognize President George Washington’s birthday. Read more fun facts about Missouri-born president Harry Truman and other fun presidential tidbits.

Harry Truman and Missouri

Harry Truman was the 33rd president of the United States serving from 1945 to 1953.

1884 to 1972
Truman was born in Lamar, MO on May 8, 1884 and died on December 26, 1972 in Independence, MO. He is the only president born in Missouri.

Estimated number of school age Children in Missouri, 5 to 17 years old, enjoying a day off from school in honor of President’s Day.

United Nations
In 1945, Harry Truman witnessed the signing of the charter for the United Nations.

Famous Quote
Harry Truman was known for his famous quote, “The buck stops here.”

Fair Deal
Truman’s 21-point program, expanding Social Security, the Fair Practices Employment Act, and public housing and slum clearance.

Dewey’s Goat
The name of Truman’s pet goat.

Truman was an accomplished pianist and practiced two hours a day.

Truman was the first president to have his Inauguration and speeches televised.

Attempted Assassination
On November 1, 1950 two men, Oscar Collazo and Griselio Torresola tried to unsuccessfully assassinate President Truman.

Atomic Bomb
After an urgent plea for Japan to surrender was rejected, Truman ordered atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, ending World War II.

Bank Clerk
Harry Truman worked as a bank clerk, farmer, and railroad timekeeper before becoming a US senator, vice president and then president.

US flagUnited States

The birthplace of more United States presidents than any other state, followed by Ohio then Massachusetts.

The number of presidents that served in the military during a war.

George Washington

Abraham Lincoln

Theodore Roosevelt

James Monroe

Andrew Johnson

Harry Truman

Andrew Jackson

Ulysses Grant

Dwight Eisenhower

William Henry Harrison

Rutherford Hayes

John Kennedy

John Tyler

James Garfield

Lyndon Johnson

Zachary Taylor

Chester Arthur

Richard Nixon

Franklin Pierce

Benjamin Harrison

Gerald Ford

James Buchanan

William McKinley

George Bush

James Garfield was the only preacher to ever become President of the United States. He was an ordained minister who used his speaking ability to preach and teach.

George Washington and James Monroe were the only two presidents who ran unopposed.

Never Ran
Presidents who never ran for president were:
John Tyler – Death of William Henry Harrison
Millard Fillmore – Death of Zachary Taylor
Andrew Johnson – Assassination of Abraham Lincoln
Chester Arthur – Assassination of James Garfield

Twenty three presidents were lawyers.

John Adams

Millard Fillmore

William Taft

Thomas Jefferson

Franklin Pierce

Woodrow Wilson

John Quincy Adams

James Buchanan

Calvin Coolidge

Abraham Lincoln

Rutherford Hayes

Franklin Roosevelt

Andrew Jackson

Chester Arthur

Richard Nixon

Martin Van Buren

Grover Cleveland

Gerald Ford

John Tyler

Benjamin Harrison

Bill Clinton

James Polk

William McKinley


Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield, William McKinley and John Kennedy were assassinated while President of the United States.

Four Terms
Franklin D. Roosevelt was the only president to have served four terms, 1932, 1936, 1940, and 1944.

Grover Cleveland was the only president to have served two non-consecutive terms as president.



US census Bureau




Contact Us                                                       MERIC Home